Home » Good reference sites

Good reference sites

Advertisements

Useful Research Links (PLEASE ADVISE ANY BROKEN LINKS!)

Libraries
US Library of Congress – Digital Collections http://www.loc.gov/library/libarch-digital.html

Online Computer Library Center http://www.oclc.org/default.htm

Best Online Reference Sites http://www.rcls.org/deskref/

Libdex’s Library Finder http://www.libdex.com/

Art Institute of Portland Library’s Online Database
http://library.aidepartments.com/research/index.asp

State Library of Western Australia http://slwa.wa.gov.au/

National Library of Australia http://www.nla.gov.au/

British Library http://www.bl.uk/

Museums
Musee du Louvre http://www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/home.jsp?bmLocale=en
Smithsonian Institution http://www.si.edu/

Franklin Institute http://www2.fi.edu/

Egyptian Museum http://www.egyptianmuseum.gov.eg/

National Museum of American History http://americanhistory.si.edu/index.cfm

Anne Frank Museum http://www.annefrank.org/content.asp?pid=1&lid=3&setlanguage=2

Atlases
World Atlas http://www.worldatlas.com/aatlas/world.htm

Atlapedia Online http://www.atlapedia.com/index.html

Biographical
Biography.com http://www.biography.com/search/

Society & Environment
Infoplease’s Latitude and Longitude Coordinate Finder http://www.infoplease.com/atlas/latitude-longitude.html

Science
Infoplease’s Periodic Table http://www.infoplease.com/periodictable.php

Dr Karl Kruszelnicki http://www.abc.net.au/science/k2/

Science Daily News http://www.sciencedaily.com/

Maths
Infoplease’s Online Calculator http://www.infoplease.com/math/calculator.html

Universal Currency Converter http://www.xe.com/ucc/

Art
Art Institute of Portland Library’s Online Database
http://library.aidepartments.com/research/index.asp

English
Infoplease’s Writing Skills http://www.infoplease.com/homework/writingskills1.html#essay

Infoplease’s Spelling Checker http://www.infoplease.com/spellcheck

Internet Public Library’s Literary Criticism Collection http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/

Kathy Livingston’s Guide to Writing a Basic Essay http://members.tripod.com/~lklivingston/essay/

Thinking and Planning Tools http://www.sac.sa.edu.au/Library/Library/Topics/thinking_skills/thinking.html

University of South Australia’s Essay Writing page http://www.unisa.edu.au/ltu/students/study/assessment/essays.asp

Economics
Australian Bureau of Statistics http://www.abs.gov.au/

Kitco’s Live Market Quotes http://www.kitco.com/market/

GeoHive’s Global Statistics http://www.geohive.com/default1.aspx

Sydney Morning Herald’s Business Quotes & Charts http://markets.smh.com.au/apps/qt/quote.ac?code=NAB

Search Engines
Alta Vista http://www.altavista.com/

Webcrawler http://www.webcrawler.com/

Google Scholar http://scholar.google.com.au/

Dictionaries & Thesauruses
Wiktionary http://en.wiktionary.org/wiki/Main_Page

Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary.htm

Encyclopedias
Wikipedia http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page

MSN Encarta http://encarta.msn.com/

Encyclopedia Mythica http://www.pantheon.org/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: